Absurdities of Online Networking

27 Jan

So I took the morning off from college, and logged onto my profile on the networking site and changed the location to the place I shall be visiting for the rest of the week.

It didn’t take long for people to pounce! Golly, and they were a lot.

The first guy I spoke to was rather interesting. He was an NRI returned to India and a little over 30. It was quite a break finding someone who could speak the language, though he tried to taunt me for “belonging to the British Royal family” when we started out.
Anyway, we were making casual conversation when I popped the question of whether he was out to his folks (at his age!!)
To which he responded that he wasn’t. And then told me that he was married… like Wow! A guy educated so well, living abroad for several years goes ahead and marries a woman. And he assured me that I was too young to understand, and would have to face it myself some day. Clearly, the bride’s families need to perform a better background check nowadays.

Simultaneously, the following elapsed with another dude …
____

The Dude: hello
what are you looking for?
Me: A diamond brooch.
The Dude: i have it with me…. when i can show it to you?
Me: how about now?
The Dude: why not – where? what is the secret code?
Me: India gate.
The code is “I’m gay”
The Dude: mmmmmmmm……
india gate is an hour drive from – so is 12:30PM in
front of india gate ok?
what will u be wearing – so that i can identify you?
or a face pic of yours would do
Me: I’ll be wearing a bottle green bathing suit.
The Dude: mmmm………. that will suit you darling…. it will look much
better than the pink dress you wore last time
Me: Huh?
That was you, hun.
The Dude: any way – take care – let me see if i can have some
serious conversation here
Me: right… tc

____

And finally…

Another Dude : hi 24 m see me and send me ur pic
Me : Hi Dude,
I’m flattered that you trust me with your picture, but I’m neither
interested in hookups, nor in sending my pics out to strangers…
Dude : whats ur name send me ur pic
Me : My name is death, and if I send you my pic, yours will be up on a
wall.
Dude : what ??/
Me : Never you mind.

___

Haha… This surely can be fun!

Anyway, I’m off in an hour. Will stay in touch through my phone.

Bbye all!

6 Responses to “Absurdities of Online Networking”

  1. Crazy Sam January 27, 2009 at 4:29 pm #

    You come up with this post when I was thinking about writing guidelines to follow on a gay dating site. 🙂

  2. Rambunctious WhipperSnapper January 28, 2009 at 1:01 am #

    Slut, much?

  3. Peter January 29, 2009 at 3:50 am #

    I find Indian gays pretty strange sometimes!

  4. unsungpsalm January 29, 2009 at 7:21 am #

    *sam
    Ahh, great minds think alike. Can’t wait to read it 🙂

    *Ramby
    Huh, what? You callin’ me une Slut?

    *Peter
    I’m guessing online forums are simply not the place to meet the sensible ones…

  5. Rambunctious WhipperSnapper February 2, 2009 at 3:01 am #

    So now, even being a slut is a bad thing????

    Ayiiiiiii, what is the world coming to?

    What’s next?

    Worrying about global warming?????

  6. unsungpsalm February 2, 2009 at 5:05 pm #

    *Ramby
    I only asked if you were calling me one. In no way did I imply whether or not I was offended by the allegation.

Leave a Reply

