Homophobia in the Family

23 Jan

Thankfully, not mine.

So I’ve taken this addiction to Family Guy off-late, which I spend tons of my free time watching. Uptill know, the going was good. And I would have to be exaggerating if I said that I’ve started enjoying it a bit less, but as I revel in exaggeration, I will say that I’ve started liking it a bit less.

All this while, there were these Family Guy moments in which I felt that my least favourite character, Stewie, was gay. And I just watched an episode which confirms that he is not. Which is utter deception, considering all those moments in which it seemed so explicit and obvious from his scenes.
I think that it’s about time prominent adult cartoons started having mainstream gay characters. It would certainly further the gay rights movement.

Anyway, I was searching Youtube for a nice accompanying clip for any of you who haven’t watched Family Guy before (*shudder*) and found one very much in line with the theme of my post…

Yes, I know it’s in humour. I love Family Guy… I always will 🙂

8 Responses to “Homophobia in the Family”

  1. Jackdaw January 23, 2009 at 8:18 pm #

    Almost all cartoon characters are male. They often even live together. Usually their sexuality is not mentioned explicitly, but if I were straight this would have offended me. I would have written a post complaining about the large majority of the cartoon characters being gay.

  2. unsungpsalm January 23, 2009 at 9:11 pm #

    Errr….

    Okay, I’m slow. Didn’t quite get that. Sounded like a sarcastic jibe at how it’s not essential for details such as these to be mentioned explicitly. Correct?

  3. D January 23, 2009 at 9:50 pm #

    Look at you gays looking for gay moments in everything!

    *Ah! I’m cool now – settled scores.*

  4. Jackdaw January 24, 2009 at 7:17 am #

    What I meant to say was that you shouldn’t look for those things in cartoons. You can see whatever you want to seen in them.

  5. unsungpsalm January 24, 2009 at 7:22 am #

    *D
    Good for you 🙂
    Now start watching as much of it as you can…

    *Jack
    Oh, I was NOT looking for it… It just seemed a bit obvious. And then they made it obvious that it wasn’t true.
    Damn!

  6. Dark Knight January 25, 2009 at 3:57 pm #

    hehehe

  7. Orange January 25, 2009 at 11:54 pm #

    Umm USP… if you read up on Stewie’s character, you will find that the creators have deliberately decided to portray him as having ambiguous sexuality.

    There are quite a few episodes where he is shown to have a crush on a girl and similarly there are others in which he is shown lusting for boys.

    My take on this: It’s just a cartoon. Enjoy it for it is. 🙂

    ANd if you must put a label to his sexuality… bi is a good compromise, no?

  8. unsungpsalm January 26, 2009 at 8:36 am #

    You guys look down upon me for labelling peoples’ sexuality, don’t you?

    It’s just for fun, y’know 🙂

Leave a Reply

