Beyond Comfort Lines

19 Jan

Not me, hell no! (Though I occasionally often subject Rakesh to it… sorry babe!)

Last evening, I had a rather hectic workout, because the gym was quite empty for a change. In fact, within half an hour of my arrival there, nearly everyone had cleared out, so all the equipment was in access. None of the pro’s were present, so I was feeling good about myself. Thus, I worked out my triceps, abs, sides and legs.  Normally, one should do no more than 2 at a time. But I was feeling happy!

My legs are slightly on the heavier side, or so I believe. I feel extremely weak and rather giddy after a couple of sit-ups. I think it’s because my legs cannot support the rest of my weight. Then again, when I do a certain exercise called Leg Raises in which I have to raise the weight of my legs alone, the rest of me cannot support the weight of the legs. Weird!

So I came back at 9 pm. Hagatha and I were supposed to meet after dinner to chit-chat, since we hadn’t met all day. But as we’re together for most part of every other day, I smsed her telling her I couldn’t make it.

Later that night around 10.30, when I was about to go to sleep, she SMS-ed, wishing to initiate one of her frequent conversations about how her life had transformed in the last few years and how delighted she was in college, with a friend like me. I felt the same way and such, and we’ve spoken about it several times. And are likely to touch upon the issue again, in the future.

Thus again, I made my apologies, saying I was extremely exhausted and needed to sleep. Which I did, a few minutes later.

The next morning, she messaged complaining that she could’ve easily talked a little longer the previous night, and that I cut her off. I reminded her about how tired I was then. She continued saying that I’d speak endlessly whenever I needed to share, and she couldn’t, and so on. I reminded her again that I really was tired.
Then she once again complained for “completely neglecting” her over the winter break, which I had told her was because the environment at home was almost electric. And because I needed a little time apart from her.

Eventually, I told her that if she needed someone to be available on call, she needed to ask someone else, because I could only be human.

Eventually, she ended up asking me if I needed a time-out from us. I didn’t want to upset her, or make things worse since we will be spending a lot of the semester together, and told her to just be more understanding.

I don’t think there is anything as a perfect friend. Each person brings with him/her a lot of baggage. I suppose I’m grateful she subjects me to hers in very occasional, albeit strong, doses.

But inspite of her parasitic tendencies, she’s my hag and I love her do!
(Okay, that last line was hard to write at the moment, because I’m still mad at her, so the Ladies reading better not scream at me!)

7 Responses to “Beyond Comfort Lines”

  1. D January 20, 2009 at 12:23 am #

    Hey, I like the new template!

  2. BlueMist January 20, 2009 at 3:07 am #

    May be when you calm down you should rethink about the post title. Everything is okay in friends. Counting on a friend is the best part of friendship.

  3. unsungpsalm January 20, 2009 at 8:05 am #

    Rethink the title?!

    It only says “tendencies”… not “advances” or anything…

    Bah, you’re right :@

  4. BlueMist January 20, 2009 at 3:37 pm #

    🙂 Thanks !!

  5. Jay January 21, 2009 at 1:15 pm #

    “…she SMS-ed, wishing to initiate one of her frequent conversations about how her life had transformed in the last few years and how delighted she was in college, with a friend like me.”

    She likes talking endlessly about that, you like talking endlessly about yourself. You guys really are a great match!

  6. Nikita January 22, 2009 at 10:47 am #

    Awww, all gals are somewhat like that dude. I know I have done that countless number of times, but the people I do it with are the ones I love the most. 🙂

  7. unsungpsalm January 22, 2009 at 3:59 pm #

    Hmmm…
    Well, then you just read the guy’s perspective 😉

Leave a Reply

