Open invite!

13 Jan

So I’m the nice charitable fellow, aren’t I?

I was on the train with roomie and close friend (Anjali). We were going to start our first game of cards soon, and before gearing up for it, I excused myself to the bathroom.

The entire train was full of students. In my coach, there were 2 other fellows I knew, one a friend from another college and another, a junior who several all people seem to dislike.

I was passing his berth on the way to the loo, when I caught a side-glimpse of him bending over his phone, looking lost and forlorn. Very unlike him. Most of the time, he looks a bit snooty with an air about him, but here he was looking meek and timid and all by himself.

So I went back, asked my friends if it was okay for me to invite the guy over for a game. They approved, and I popped around to his seat which was right next to ours, and said “Dude, you wanna play cards?”

He looked up at me.

I looked up at him.

He didn’t look his usual self. Not his usual self at all.

He looked at me, really really confused.

I looked back at him wondering how he managed to look so different in a month’s time.

He mumbled, “Ummm… maybe later?”

“Okay”, I mumbled, still confused.

I started walking back to my seat, and lo behold, on the berth adjacent to ours (on the other side) sat the fellow I had thought I had just invited to a game of cards.

So much for trying to be nice!

5 Responses to “Open invite!”

  1. D January 13, 2009 at 5:45 pm #

    I’m guessing he wasn’t even good looking! That must be so embarrassing!

  2. unsungpsalm January 13, 2009 at 5:50 pm #

    He was okay-looking. Not bad. But I doubt it would change anything… Junior!

    It was embarrassing for a short moment, yes, but then it’s a nice story to tell 🙂

  3. Just Call me 'A' January 14, 2009 at 1:49 am #

    hee hee hee…just shows how much we notice things and people :D. The train journey you describe reminds me of my train journey home during my engg days. sigh

  4. unsungpsalm January 14, 2009 at 1:56 pm #

    Ahhh oui oui!
    Quite what I’m living now!

  5. Rambunctious WhipperSnapper January 14, 2009 at 7:39 pm #

    See, being nice is overrated.

    You know what they say, nice guys get kicked in the nuts by a short guy practicing kung-fu.

Leave a Reply

