Say NO to MTV (For more reasons than one)

6 Jan

Yesterday, whilst at my cousin’s, MTV Roadies (6.0) happened to be playing on TV. So this hopeful comes in. Quite like the rest, he’s totally gavaar. And a gym instructor.

Both the interviewers went off about how only gay people are into body-building, and thus the guy was gay. And the dude kept denying the allegation. Then they asked him to unclothe, and commented on how the fact that he waxed (or specifically used veet or something) his tattoo was on his back, and only visible to someone behind him, and how that was gay and yada yada yada. (In retrospection, I wonder how they know so much about hair-removal products.)
Once he’d left the room, they said in closing comments that “they were kidding and that he wasn’t gay”. Because clearly, if he was, that would be the most humiliating thing in the world, right?

I wasn’t holding the remote control, so I couldn’t help our being parked on MTV. But as a rule, I avoid that dumb-shit channel. Even though I was interviewed randomly on the street by an MTV anchor last week, and people called screaming that they saw me on air. Because frankly, MTV is trash! I suppose the only reason I did not run away when the VJ came up to us was because he was cute. But yes, MTV is trash. Though I thought Roadies was interesting.

But if Rajiv & Raghu are going to go about suggesting that there’s something wrong or embarassing about being gay, even though they otherwise pretend to be responsible and mature adults and sensitive towards respecting women and blah blah, then sorry, I don’t want them on my TV!

Video Link
http://www.mtvindia.com/roadies/videos_episodes_ep6.php

Check out “Sunny Paji…” and “Sunny Thakur – Bhagoo”

16 Responses to “Say NO to MTV (For more reasons than one)”

  1. D January 6, 2009 at 4:03 pm #

    Raghu did apologise later.

    Clearly, that’s not enough.

  2. unsungpsalm January 6, 2009 at 7:17 pm #

    Apologised for what, exactly? The only apology I recall was to the guy for calling him gay.

  3. Crazy Sam January 6, 2009 at 9:00 pm #

    You were on MTV? How cud I miss it!! Oh wait! I rarely watch TV. Hmm… Let me see whether I can do something about it. 😛

    I actually was hoping to make a post on how MTV is trying to dictate “youngistan” on what they should see, how they should think, what they should do and should not . I really miss my 90’s MTV. Aah! Those were the days of VJs like Shenaz and Amrita. I miss my MTV. Sob!

  4. unsungpsalm January 6, 2009 at 10:20 pm #

    Haha!
    Yes, indeed! I miss MTV from back then too!

    I remember my sister and I sitting and making an elaborate letter for one of the shows… I’ve forgotten the name now.
    We were hoping to become the “Letter of the Day”. Alas, didn’t.

    I think we requested for “My Heart Will Go On” !!

  5. Crazy Sam January 6, 2009 at 11:35 pm #

    MTV Most Wanted!!

  6. Just Call me 'A' January 7, 2009 at 1:59 am #

    Wow..if it was in the US, there would have been a lawsuit against the channel by now. It surpises me at the way people behave sometimes….esp those in the media who feel they are entitled to say anything and get away with it////..why in the world would it be humilating to be gay? Sure it’s not yet widely accepted but it’s not a humilation for sure. I feel so angry.

  7. Dark Knight January 7, 2009 at 9:06 am #

    oh god, I know MTV is trash that’s why i never watch those stupid idiotic shows. I think they are total waste of time…

    and you were on TV? hehehe ohh, i missed it 😀

  8. unsungpsalm January 7, 2009 at 10:05 am #

    *Sam
    Oui Oui Oui! That one!
    I also used to enjoy Chinappa’s “Select”. Not the current kind, but the one in which he stood alone, with a scroll of tracks on his right. And occasionally, he dressed in revealing clothing! 😛 Yummy!

    *A
    I did, too. Sat there fuming amongst unaware cousins.
    Though D says he apologised later. I’m wondering what exactly she’s referring to. It’s not beneath them to apologise for being insensitive, but I didn’t explicitly see them doing it.
    They did sort of take a guy’s case for being homophobic in one episode (but in a very neutral manner), but ended up telling him he was probably a closet gay, which didn’t sound pleasant either.

    *DK
    Haha, it was probably just 5 seconds long 🙂 You didn’t miss much!

  9. Rambunctious WhipperSnapper January 7, 2009 at 2:54 pm #

    I remember MTV and Channel V when both of them actually played music and were not full of crap like right now. I guess in the TV bizz if you want to earn money you need to cater to the lowest common denominator.

    Now they are even turning VH1 India into a reality show channel.

    Thank god we still have the internet ….. and online radio ….

    • unsungpsalm January 7, 2009 at 4:09 pm #

      Gosh! VH1 too? I don’t watch it, but I did have a bit of respect for it.
      I suppose there’s no proper TV Channel left.

      WorldSpace is quite good, y’know!

  10. Crazy Sam January 7, 2009 at 8:01 pm #

    No.. please God! Not Vh1!!

    Yes I too liked the earlier MTV Select. Nikhil had got quite a droolicious stomach, you know! Though his face isn’t that desirable to gaze at, his pecs, his arms and his charm nicely compensate for it. I actually admire him for not showing off his body to increase the TRP of the channel.

  11. unsungpsalm January 7, 2009 at 8:55 pm #

    Oh, but he did show it off! I remember episodes with (completely unbuttoned shirts and lone waistcoats and stuff…)

    Sigh, I remember those episodes well *dreamy*

    But I doubt that was to boost TRP’s. That was in the era when the exposed male body was not considered attractive… just any ordinary thing. It was before the period of the metrosexual and the sorts.

  12. Crazy Sam January 7, 2009 at 11:59 pm #

    Yeah I have seen those teasers, but I cudn’t see the actual shows.

  13. unsungpsalm January 8, 2009 at 12:03 am #

    Ha ha.

    Ha.

    😛

  14. BlueMist January 24, 2009 at 1:25 am #

    Really ? Given that Raghu trashes each one who disrespects women and gays it is unbelievable to me. In fact one girl who said Gays are mentally retarded had to eat back her words. I always felt this dude is rude but he is not cheap.

  15. unsungpsalm January 24, 2009 at 7:12 am #

    He did? Never seen that bit!
    But more often than not, they make people eat back all their words, irrespective of what they say… so I never get a good idea of their (Raghu/Rajiv’s) own stand on issues…

    I probably am wrong. But I didn’t like the whole gay bit that I did catch, on TV.

Leave a Reply

