Chilly days that passed

4 Jan

It occured to me a moment ago that winters don’t seem to be as bitter as they did once upon a time.

Then I realised that it’s because I don’t have to wake up in the morning at 5 a.m. to go to school. Step out of the warm, thick blanket into the cold atmosphere, undress and take a bath with wonderfully warm wateronly to step back into the cold, chilly atmosphere with the teeth chattering nineteen to a dozen. Stepping out into the foggy morning, running to the bus stop, lest I miss the bus. Occasionally watching it vanish in front of me, into the fog… beyond the sound of my call for it to stop. Hailing an auto and riding 10 kms, with the bitter wind blowing right at my face.

And today, I lie in bed till 10 a.m. And I have my bath at 2 p.m. And I don’t have to go to school. Don’t have to chase buses in auto’s.

Lovin’ it, Lovin’ it!

_____

Do not stand at my grave and weep,
I am not there, I do not sleep.
I am in a thousand winds that blow,
I am the softly falling snow.
I am the gentle showers of rain,
I am the fields of ripening grain.
I am in the morning hush,
I am in the graceful rush
Of beautiful birds in circling flight,
I am the starshine of the night.
I am in the flowers that bloom,
I am in a quiet room.
I am in the birds that sing,
I am in each lovely thing.
Do not stand at my grave and cry,
I am not there. I do not die.

Mary Elizabeth Fry

9 Responses to “Chilly days that passed”

  1. PI January 5, 2009 at 10:07 pm #

    jeez, my college started today and am goint green with envy!
    (i remember looking at my watch at ten and lamenting to myself in the middle of the class, that for the last fortnight i didn’t even wake up till atleast an hour later)
    all the same, i had my fortnight of fun. so ought not complain.
    but i did all the same, didn’t i? ๐Ÿ˜›
    have fun!

  2. Nikita January 5, 2009 at 11:24 pm #

    I do not die
    I just live on
    To see what you do
    When I am gone
    Would you feel me
    In the morning dew
    Or forget my touch
    In days too few
    Would you hear me
    In the gentle rain
    Or would I call you
    Just in vain
    Would you know
    That I caressed
    Or would you be
    Forever unimpressed

  3. unsungpsalm January 6, 2009 at 1:07 am #

    *PI
    Awww… well, it’s a part of life, hon. I’ll be doing it next week, this time ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    And one always has the right to complain. That’s what Blogs are meant for ๐Ÿ˜›

    *Nikita
    Gee, that’s beautiful too! Where from?

  4. Nikita January 6, 2009 at 10:48 am #

    @unsungpsalm
    Hey that’s mine ๐Ÿ™‚
    Wrote that after reading the poem in your post. Just came to me spontaneously ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. unsungpsalm January 6, 2009 at 10:51 am #

    Awww!

    Ms. Poet-ess! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Rambunctious WhipperSnapper January 7, 2009 at 2:56 pm #

    You hit the nail on the err..ummm…. head.

    • unsungpsalm January 7, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

      I completely understand what you mean

      not.

  7. 2005 February 20, 2009 at 2:57 pm #

    U didnt attend [censored] now did you??

  8. unsungpsalm February 20, 2009 at 4:03 pm #

    Hi, I appreciate your interest, but this is an anonymous blog, and I’d appreciate if you’d respect that and not attempt to decipher my identity.

Leave a Reply

