It Happened One Eve

1 Jan

31st December

7.00 PM
Shirt… check. Trousers… check. Sweater… hmm. Okay, maybe a jacket… nah, nothing matches. Socks… check. Handkerchiefs in socks to make the boots less painful… check. Boots… check (Wow, I don’t feel a thing!)

So I’m set with one layer of clothing and footwear. Now for the warm stuff. Sweater… again, nothing. Tweed court… Check!

Warm enough? Not for friggin’ 31st! Sweatshirt underneath shirt for warmth… check.

“Mirror Mirror on the wall, how ridiculous do I look in all?”
Mirror : Ummm, it’ll do, I guess.

Not enough!

So the sweatshirt&shirt combo is looking a bit weird, so shirt comes off. Back to one layer of clothing and an unprotective tweed jacket.
Hmm… looks great. But the sweatshirt is old! Won’t do.
Shirt and tweed jacket. Hmm, looks decent. But I’m bloody cold.

Mirror : “Then just suck it up, and putt through the night, Unsung.”

Hmph!

And that’s how I set out for the evening, shivering from home to the Metro stop, then from the metro stop onwards, in search of the house.

I enter the room, and lo behold, a senior from way back. Now this girl I haven’t met for several years, and I learn that she’s now dating an acquaintance from college.

I remember her distinctly for being a daughter of an adorable teacher, and having a younger sister who looks almost exactly like her.

“Ohh err… which one is she?! Shit!”

So in conversatin, she tells me she’s pursuing her post grad. so she’s got to be the elder one. “How’s <Younger One> doing?” I ask nervously.
“She’s doing well,” comes the response. Phew!

So a bit of conversation with her, and then we set out to decide where we want to parrty! 2 cosey rooms indoors, or the cold semi-open terrace. They want the terrace. Dammit! No problemo, the alcohol later will make us feel better.

So we set up. I know most of the people there, but aren’t on talking terms with the majority. So I instead turn focus on getting to know friends of friends, and exchange enjoyable dialogue with them instead. “Score (on the inter-personal skills front), Unsung!”

Another 2 girls turns up in a while. That’s 3 girls in a gang of 30. Wow! One of them seems bitchy looking, and a bit dull… she’s not even mixing, and hasn’t introduced herself to anyone. Well, except the 3 she’s speaking to, and then me, because I was talking to everyone else she was interacting with.

Anyway, so it’s been a few hours, there has been sufficient interaction, and 2 guys, I can decisively say, are gay.
One is talkative, interactive, has seen a bit of life, but extremely gay (on your average gaydar.) Lo Behold, he’s “committed” to the bitchy looking one!
Ha! I’d like to hear him say that in a few years… Anyway, the chick seemed quite dull, as I mentioned, so maybe a resonant personality (even if with the wrong orientation) is the best she could do.

The other gay guy also mentions a girlfriend somewhere, later into the night. Hmph! Why do Indian guys need to come to terms with their sexuality so much later in life!
Nonetheless, I talk to this fellow as much as I can, and manage to keep him in laughter. I like having an audience to my cracks, even if small.

There are high points, and low points in the evening. Highs include group Hookah games (The Best Hookah I’ve ever had till date is here!) that never quite take off, and there are lows where the gang-from-college is thick in personal jokes, and I wish I had some closer friends with me. I like to be in the thick of affairs and feel quite out-of-place otherwise (to hell with tons of others who are as incongruous… I’m not them!)

So the evening goes by, with 3 drinks, a few drags of weed that never quite “took” and tons and tons of Hookah (that gave me a tremendous high in the beginning, but did nothing after… even on addition of Vodka to the liquid!)

The music is mostly rap and punjabi, and not to my taste at all. How I die for a party where I can play my music! Pure dance, that is.
So eventually, I get really bored, and settle into a bedroom on the pretext of resting a bit. I pop on my iPod that I’m thankfully carrying (as always) and indulge myself with my own preferences. It’s about 2.30 am, now.
That’s where I go to sleep, feeling darned cold with no blanket. And with my boots on! I must say it’s quite a transition from not-being-able-to-walk-in-them to sleeping-in-them. I only have my coat for warmth, and I tug at it more.
I wake up at 7.00 am. Everyone is asleep, and will be for a few more hours. I pick up me boots (that I’d removed later) and quietly step out, head to the exit, wake up the caretaker to let me out, and walk to the station, a bag of quivering bones, to head home. It’s insanely cold outside, not to forget darned misty. I won’t be surprised if I end up really ill soon!

Now I’m in the comfort of my warmish blanket, and am finally ready to take a real nap!

Yawn!

In other excitement, Just ‘A’ has been Just so Generous to confer an award to us at the beginning of the year! I hoope that’s setting a precedent! It’s called “The Resonance Award”, crafted by Kiran.
The terms are that it must be given to at least 6. So I pick those that truly touched “The chords of my heart”.

guitar

1. Ramby – For reinforcing my belief in the absolute, over the relative.

2. Cacophonic Clamour – For his occasional words, that captivate each time (except the one about the TV soaps 😛 )

3. Simply D – Whose simplicity advocates humility.

4. The Freeeezing Flames – For inspirational grit and pride

5. FlyGye – In the hope that he returns soon, for we miss him so!

6. Last but certainly not the least (au contraire, the extreme opposite of ‘least’) – To Rakesh. He mayn’t blog for you all, but he fills up pages for me, morning and night. Not only does he touch the chords of my heart, he also occasionally changes the strings, whenever I’m getting a little rusty.

Happy 2009, every one!

4 Responses to “It Happened One Eve”

  1. Rambunctious WhipperSnapper January 1, 2009 at 6:23 pm #

    There are so many things that need to be said here but for the purpose of posterity, I won’t go there.

    Anyways, thanks for taking off your tight, smelly shoes and for the award.

    Happy New Year!!

    (I know I’m being too kind. It’s not going to last long. So just roll with it.) .. 😛 …

  2. unsungpsalm January 1, 2009 at 6:43 pm #

    You’re such a bitch!
    Now you’ve got me thinking what you wanted to comment on, let alone what the comments were!!

    My shoes weren’t tight or smelly, thank you very much.

    Yes, and a very happy new year to you as well, love!

    Don’t be kind too long, else I’ll lose interest in you.

  3. D January 1, 2009 at 7:16 pm #

    I wonder how the weather gets to know it’s that night of the year when we all want to look good and feel warm too? Only Murphy’s Law explains something like this!

    And hey, thanks for the award 🙂

  4. Rakesh January 3, 2009 at 2:10 am #

    Thank you for the award. 🙂

Leave a Reply

