Cleansing Rituals

27 Dec

Blogosphere is so silent nowadays that I can hear my footsteps echoing back at me.

And I’m wearing Sneakers for cryin’ out loud!

Anyway, since I came home, our living room has been an outright mess. All through growing up, this used to be the exact state of my room, with sheets of papers and tons of memorabilia stacked away on shelves and cabinets in my room. Notes and chits, old speeches from conferences and debates that I had participated in, lying stacked away and harbouring numerous memories.

Over time, I realised that my inherent forgetfulness held me from retaining those memories even as I sifted through those souvenirs from the past. In college, I learned of the depreciating nature of “Sentimental Value”. And I came across role models such as Karen Walker, and even sentiments lost their sheen.
Today, I don’t think twice before discarding.

These lessons that I have learned, I seem to have taken from my mother. Well, not taken as much as taken away. Her ability to discard objects without thinking twice seems to have left her, and given place to an attitude of “Let it be, just in case.” For instance, I could never throw away a set of stray keys or a medicine bottle that was prescribed for god-knows-what, just in case it was required in the future. She could. Now, she says “Let it be.” How crazy is that! And she cannot get herself down to cleaning the living room, though I keep insisting that we must.

I think this swapping of roles may have something to do with the fact that I watch Desperate Housewives and she doesn’t. She could do wonders if she took a leaf out of Bree’s Spiral-Bound-alphebatized-notebook-with-post-its. And honestly, I’d make her watch DH, but she doesn’t seem to take interest in English Television, and seems far too satisfied with Indian TV’s Stuff ‘n’ Nonsense. I made her watch an entire episode of “Keeping Up Appearances” the other day, and she didn’t let out as much as a giggle! And I’m certain she used to watch either Santa Barbara or Bold&TheBeautiful back in the day. I’m certain she’s read nearly every Sidney Sheldon and Danielle Steele and *coughm’n’bcough* ever written, so she’s certainly not uncomfortable with the language (given that that was our only medium of conversation for some 10 years!) It seems she dislikes anything even moderately intellectual, and I’m not proud of that at all.

Which is why I think I got my brains (for whatever they’re worth) from me Dad. Except that his incompetence with the computer gives me doubt.
But I have from mom a yearning for material possession, and from dad, acting skill and (formerly, my) literary affinity, so I suppose I am an offspring of theirs after all.

Well, that seems to be enough of a ramble for the moment, so Ta!

4 Responses to “Cleansing Rituals”

  1. Stray December 27, 2008 at 1:22 pm #

    Where does one lay hands on a spiral-bound-alphabetized-Notebook-with-post-its???! I really want one!

  2. unsungpsalm December 27, 2008 at 1:27 pm #

    Why, on the sets of Desperate Housewives, of course!

  3. D December 27, 2008 at 2:10 pm #

    You think Desperate Housewives is even “moderately intellectual”? Bah!

  4. unsungpsalm December 27, 2008 at 2:12 pm #

    Turn on DH on one TV and “Kasam Se” on another, simultaneously… You’ll know what I’m talking about!

Leave a Reply

