What’s the good word?

6 Dec

In conversation with Rebel on topics of volatile memories, I recalled an incident on the train journey home that was rather comical.

We were in a game of Dumb Charades and were thinking of movies that would stump the other team. We were doing only Hindi movies at the time (rendering me quite useless) and my team-mate bent over to me and whispered “What about Guide? They won’t know how to act it.” I just nodded, not bothering too much about it since it wasn’t our turn to give them a film just then.

She, incidentally, had to act a film then. As soon as she was given her task, she started jumping up and down in excitement and pointing frantically at me, gesturing something to the tone of wanting to throw up right on my face. Another team-mate interpreted the gesture to be an indication that she had discussed the film with me just a moment ago, to which she nodded in agreement.
Naturally, my entire team turned towards me and I looked absolutely stunned. I simply couldn’t recall for my life what the damn name was that she had whispered into my ear 20 seconds before. Once they were fully congnizant of the fact that I hadn’t the slightest inkling, for a moment, everyone forgot that we were playing a game, and were scandalised at my ShortTermMemoryLoss.

Soon we established that the film started with G and I kept struggling to recover from my shame. “Gayatri? Gajni?” My poor vocabulary coupled with the sole recollection that it was only a single word (which too I was unsure of), did not help. She did not endeavour to act it out because she thought that it would hit me eventually, but it did not.

Thus, 3 minutes elapsed. Whereas on one hand we had little trouble guessing _______ and  __________ (I cannot recall any other film that was acted out in our game anymore), we lost out on Guide.
Sigh, talk about Ironies.

I’d mention many other instances of my absent-mindedness but, as you guessed, I don’t recall any. I shall ask Hagatha. If ever I plan to pen down a biography, she and this blog would be all that I had to bank on. Thank god for that!

10 Responses to “What’s the good word?”

  1. Rebel December 7, 2008 at 3:34 am #

    I to have a short-term memory loss as well as long-term memory loss…
    probably it is just a case of not paying attention….there have been so many instances in office when i go ask a colleague about a doubt i have and he says – ‘Haven’t we already discussed this?’….goddd…it is sooooo embarrassing…

  2. unsungpsalm December 7, 2008 at 9:53 am #

    You should do what I do. Let the entire office know about your STM problem. Then whenever they ask you the abovementioned question, they’d simply laugh.

    It’s good to make people laugh 🙂

  3. just call me 'A' December 7, 2008 at 3:42 pm #

    ha ha ha…u had me in splits on that one. but the person who interpreted the gesture to be a name she mentioned to you must be pretty sharp at DC. usually people start saying nonsense things like boy, delhi, and so on so forth.
    btw how’s the toe?

  4. TLOB December 7, 2008 at 7:48 pm #

    I suffer from not just STM but also a spontaneous verbiage when I try to cover my ignorance.
    Btw, who is maddy ( couldn’t make much from your link there) and why was he working on Sunday?

  5. unsungpsalm December 7, 2008 at 8:19 pm #

    Heehee!
    Maddy is this fellow I came across through this blog, who comments occasionally. The link there was to point to a post or 2 in which he was mentioned. He had to work today due to unprecedented circumstances. Either that, or he was lying.

  6. unsungpsalm December 7, 2008 at 8:21 pm #

    Heehee!
    Maddy is this fellow I came across through this blog, who comments occasionally. The link there was to point to a post or 2 in which he was mentioned. He had to work today due to unprecedented circumstances. Either that, or he was lying.

  7. Rambunctious WhipperSnapper December 7, 2008 at 9:07 pm #

    I can’t remember a lot of things. Back when I was working, I used to introduce myself to some people a couple of times because I couldn’t for the life of me ever remember their name or their face.

    I’d love to stay and swap stories, but I gotta go do something.

    If I can ever remember what it was.

  8. Meira December 8, 2008 at 2:09 pm #

    I rely on the phone. Goodness! Whatever will I do if I lose this
    *Shudder*!

  9. unsungpsalm December 8, 2008 at 4:53 pm #

    *Ramby
    Yes, you’re actually worse than I am!

    *Meira
    How clever!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What’s the good word? | hindi movie review - December 7, 2008

    […] Source:What’s the good word? Share and Enjoy: […]

Leave a Reply

