My Coming Out to Hagatha

20 Nov

So Ulla just posted my Coming Out Story on her awesome website, Coming Out Stories.

One can read it here.

Won’t copy-paste it as the entire content in now rightfully hers, but I will copy-paste an extract.

How old were you when you first told someone? 19
Did you plan it? If so, how? Not at all. A very close friend told me that she had feelings for me (over text messaging). I’d known that for over a year, but hoped she’d guess my orientation as she knew me so well. But when I realised that she just didn’t get the idea, I told her – more in anger because I was having to tell her explicitly and she couldn’t have put 2 and 2 together and saved me the effort.
What made you choose that person to tell? I didn’t choose her, she chose me. But she would probably have been the first to know anyway, since she’s the best friend I’ve ever had, and today, she knows me inside-out.
Can you remember exactly what you said?
Hmmm… amusing, this. She messaged “Sometimes I think that I have feelings for you that are more than just friendship…” I responded saying, “Yes, I’ve always known. And I cannot reciprocate. And I’m surprised you cannot guess why.” She said, “Either of 2 reasons.. either you don’t feel the same way, or you’re gay.” I said, “Take a pick.” She replied, “Gay?” and I sealed it with “So there.”

The full write-up is on the website, apart from a lot more other write-ups.
Do check it out 🙂

And I hope some of you guys also send in your own stories. I look forward to reading them. Ulla’s got a great place going there 🙂

5 Responses to “My Coming Out to Hagatha”

  1. Rambunctious WhipperSnapper November 21, 2008 at 12:05 am #

    Oh, I read it earlier. It was nice and funny. You should turn it into a short film when you grow up and are ready to be open and have access to a camera.

    I mean it.

  2. unsungpsalm November 21, 2008 at 7:07 am #

    Heehee. Thank you 🙂

  3. Firebolt November 21, 2008 at 7:50 am #

    I read it and I liked it. Indian coming out stories are rare. Yours is probably the only one on that site because I don’t recall reading anyone else’s.

    I agree that an anonymous blog can be therapeutic. I maintain mine for the same reason. Yours is just great.

    Looking forward to your next post.
    Cheers! ^_^

  4. D November 21, 2008 at 12:16 pm #

    Interesting. And like Ramby said, it’s totally film-worthy material.

  5. unsungpsalm November 21, 2008 at 5:42 pm #

    There are a few more on the site, I think. Just use the tags!

    FIlm-worthy, eh?
    Hagatha told me over conversation one day that she’d never forgive me for doing it over SMS. I told her it was an interesting tale to relate in the future, so if given the option, I wouldn’t have done it any other way.
    Especially with that usage of words 😛

Leave a Reply

