Do a “Dostana”?

16 Nov

So I was having a conversation with the folks, who are considering their options for moving house. The place we live in (and have since eternity) is too large for a family that has gone from 6 to 4, with 2 of the members not living in Delhi at all.

I wouldn’t mind m’old people moving, but I wouldn’t want them to move anywhere I wouldn’t appreciate. The entire Gurgaon furore compels me to discourage them from movnig there, and on dad’s salary alone, a place in South Delhi is presently beyond means.

So I recommended that they take in another PG, an arrangement that I didn’t quite like the first time round. But as long as having someone around makes mom satisfied.
To which Dad responded that, “We should do a Dostana?”

Now I haven’t really watched Dostana so I took the pleasure of asking him what he meant, as I hadn’t watched the film, to which he responded that in Dostana, a pretend gay couple lives with a woman….
I interrupted asking if he wanted to take in a pretend Gay couple along with a woman, and how he planned to room so many people on a double bed!

Unfortunately, as happens with all interesting conversations, the connection got lost (we were on Gtalk)!
Grr!

Speaking of Dostana, my frustration at K.Johar are abating. I’m realising that the reason he made a film on a pretend-gay couple was only to break the ice. If he threw a Brokeback Mountain straight at the audiences, I can’t imagine what would’ve happened then, Girlfriend 🙂

So the man is playing wisely. He wants to help the community (that he “secretly”) belongs to. But he’s taking an educated, and not an emotional approach.

But, well, I’ve still not watched the film. I suppose I shall wait to do so before expressing a very firm opinion on the same.

Last night was another drunken night… amongst the last this semester. I have a rather bad habit of messaging random people “Wheeeeeee” when I get high.
Anyway, I wrote about that in another post that was supposed to go up with a Rufus Wainwright fan video, but Youtube won’t let me upload the video because the audio is copyrighted. Sheesh! A guy can’t even pirate anymore in peace!

Will try to work around it somehow.

Ta!

11 Responses to “Do a “Dostana”?”

  1. Orange November 17, 2008 at 3:14 am #

    I love your new template. I haven’t been on here in a long time, but I love the darkness of the green. Very Elegant.

  2. unsungpsalm November 17, 2008 at 8:13 am #

    http://beccary.com/ says “Thank You” 🙂

  3. D November 17, 2008 at 11:52 am #

    You’re right – Dostana does seem like K.Jo’s attempt to break the ice. Because the film doesn’t do anything else except make a comedy out of gays.

  4. UnsungPsalm November 17, 2008 at 1:24 pm #

    Darn, seems like I have no option but to watch it.

    Some say he ridicules gay people in the film, other say there was nothing offensive.

    I suppose a divided opinion is far better than a unanimous negative one.

  5. Rakesh November 17, 2008 at 10:51 pm #

    I saw Dostana yesterday with a lot of apprehension and I have to admit, I did not find it offensive or homophobic. As much as I’d love to see a “pure” Yashraj-esque gay love story, this was a sort of lets-ease-into-the-fun-side-of-homosexuality-before-we-bring-out-the-tearjerkers kinda movie. It has a few scenes where I cringed, but, overall, I couldn’t help but enjoy this LOL film.

  6. unsungpsalm November 17, 2008 at 10:53 pm #

    Good lord! Now I absolutely cannot wait to watch the film, though I have to!

  7. Crazy Sam November 18, 2008 at 12:11 am #

    I saw Dostana. Didn’t impress me much although I had quite a few laughs even when the scenes were making fun of gays. I classify this one as a time-pass movie and you could enjoy it if you keep your expectations low.

  8. unsungpsalm November 18, 2008 at 7:30 am #

    Ahh. Well, we were discussing films yesterday (now that exams are near and we need to find avenues to squander time) and a friend was relating scenes from Dostana. I simply couldn’t stop bellowing with laughter!

    I have expectations from the film now, though it’s only of laughter.

  9. Firebolt November 21, 2008 at 8:10 am #

    I haven’t watched Dostana yet either. I had been planning not to but since my friends have positive comments on the movie I think I will, when I have time.

    I applaud Karan Johar’s attempt at breaking the ice by making a light-hearted movie focused on gays. A world apart from an apologetic piece of cringeworthy sleazy exploitation that was Girlfriend.

  10. unsungpsalm November 21, 2008 at 4:50 pm #

    All this hullabaloo about Girlfriend creates a desire to watch the film…inspite of everything!

    Fire was most well received and enjoyed by me 🙂

  11. B November 26, 2008 at 9:53 pm #

    Ur dad said ““We should do a Dostana?”
    Thats pretty cute..

    And I agree that Karan is kinda coming out in a secretive fashion thru Dostana. He is kinda telling everyone take me seriously but not so seriously

Leave a Reply

