Bangaylore Chronicles 1

3 Nov

October 31st, 2008

Well, The Bangaylore chronicles are not quite blithe. To begin with, my arrival was hours delayed owing to an unusually sluggish transport. I have reason to believe that the driver was drunk. He moved unusally slow for most part of the journey and attempted to make attends by tuning up to a decorous pace only once we had entered the city. Naturally, the traffic wasn’t quite conforming.

Within hours of my arrival, the sister went off to luncheon with a friend from work. Quite a welcome, I say! She was kind enough to forcefully bring back some pasta for me, for which did counterbalance her grand welcome. Thus, I sat and watched yet another episode of QAF.

We’re getting along quite well, in semblance with the equation that we once shared. Which means that she doesn’t consider me a criminal anymore, and I try to stay as far out of her way as I can. Some would argue that that would defeat the purpose of coming to visit her, but her deeds and my intentions would contradict. I suppose I was getting tired of life on a small campus, and one needs to get away!

In other news, the overly cautious Hagatha was supposed to take a class-test for me, which I was missing owing to this trip and needed to score well on for a good grade in the subject. She had full scores already, and I as a matter of fact, did not… inspite of having a fair command on the subject (Well, better than most others! And I’m sure that my teacher knows that as well!) I suppose she made the teacher a bit suspicious when she went and asked her yesterday if she needed to write this one as she already had a perfect score. The teacher confirmed that she did, in fact, not have to write it. Then, she went today and wrote 2 copies anyway, an unnecessary one for herself and one for me. Though I should be grateful to her for attempting to help me out, I’d rather she hadn’t because the teacher did notice that she was writing 2 copies, took note of my absence and told her curtly that since I was absent from the class, a submission by my name would not be entertained.
She’s obviously feeling guilty and keeps insisting that there will be no negative fallout from the entire episode. She tries to overcome the discomfort that she suspects to have caused (and accurately so!) by making silly chit-chat over text-messaging. Even though I’ve repeatedly told her to forget about it! Since I did tell her many times over that she did not need to take the test the third time as she was already carrying a perfect score in the previous 2 and she went and clarified it with the teacher nonetheless, fuelling her suspicion, it probably adds to her guilt.
What chafes me most is that if she hadn’t attempted the stunt at all, the teacher could have considered generosity by bumping up my marks out of generosity, but is sure not to in the rife situation.

Now, the sister has run off with a visiting cousin to purchase tickets for friends of her “friend”, leaving me behind yet again to guard the house. Which can always be locked, if one thinks of it! Yes, I doubt things could get any worse!

____

More to follow.

8 Responses to “Bangaylore Chronicles 1”

  1. Stray November 3, 2008 at 6:35 pm #

    Si, things can. U cud come to visit more often and continue to bring along your uninvited friend, Cynic. 🙂

    Ever-the-optimist,
    Stray

  2. unsungpsalm November 3, 2008 at 9:11 pm #

    You puzzle me. One could visit where more often, and bring my uninvited who?
    Are you sinking too deep into matters, Stray :\ Deeper than they really are?

  3. Stray November 4, 2008 at 1:07 pm #

    That was so obviously from your sister’ POV… duh.

  4. unsungpsalm November 4, 2008 at 5:52 pm #

    Confusing though it remains, I think I understand just a bit more!
    See, you had me and another infrequent visitor confused because he goes by the name of “Cynic”!

    Anyhow, yes, I could visit more often. But that’s my second post 🙂

  5. Stray November 4, 2008 at 7:40 pm #

    See, I just knew u had to have a pair of horns holding up that halo above your head!

    I’m in Bangalore next week, by which time I can only hope you’d have relocated far, far away?

    P.S. – How old are you??

  6. unsungpsalm November 4, 2008 at 10:31 pm #

    I’m all of just-over-20.
    Oui, mon horns are well placed! And yes, I’m relocated already.
    Do enjoy the city; it’s way too brilliant. How old are you sire? My guess is forty-three.

  7. Stray November 5, 2008 at 8:01 am #

    Ah ha, mais nah! I’m WAAAAAY under that; early 30s! {Did “ze new venture” post throw u off… beta?? LOL!}

  8. unsungpsalm November 5, 2008 at 10:49 am #

    Yep, I pegged you at 49 after reading that one. Thought I’d be nice, nonetheless 🙂

Leave a Reply

