Egoism can be good

4 Oct

I just read this article, and I’m guessing that this is the only “modern” country where such events can even dream to transpire. I wonder what it is that those Christians did wrong in life to deserve this. Well, sure they are homophobic and all, but they are relatively peace loving, not so fundamentalists… and a majority, I’m positive, converted because they were being treated unfairly as Hindu’s, what with the castes and classes existing.

I suppose I’m beginning to be proud of how much I hate the people of this country. And I’m expressing that in real life to the people I interact with. I absolutely cannot wait to get back home, and proclaim it with pride before my extended family. Scandalise them. Maybe even have an argument or two.

Fact is that I could go on living in an urban environment and not be bothered at all by what transpires in villages, though Mangalore is no village, mind; but as a rule, I would have to subscribe to a newspaper, and reading such stories really does make my insides churn.

I have one life, that I wish to live in peace. If some fundamentalists and simply mental-ists want to go around killing each other and revel in it, who am I to stop them? I’m no superhero to be able to stop them, but if I were, I would. I’m only a person trying to survive. They, on the other hand, are people who are trying to kill. If they would restrict themselves to trying to survive, the situation wouldn’t be as bad. So I am on higher ground. Why should I change? Why should I listen to one hundred thousand voices screaming, “Why complain about the situation and not try to bring about change?” Did you try to bring about change, I ask. No, you did not. Change is quite impossible. One cannot change neurotic minds. Frankly, it’s better to live one’s own life than to attempt it.

Think of all the neurotic minds existing in the Karnataka and Orissa government, that allow matters to take this shape. Do they want things to become better? If they did, they would make an effort. But they don’t. So if you want to bring change, you have to fight not only the people but the government that it elected. You have to change their mindset, and everything that they have been brought up thinking. Are you up for the task?

Save your energies. If you can survive in the protected environment that urban life may offer, and shield yourself from everything that transpires around you, then do so. Otherwise, emigrate. Emigrate, even if it is to Papua New Guinea.

We all have one life. We can only live for ourselves and the ones we love. Why waste time on people who never deserved to live?

2 Responses to “Egoism can be good”

  1. Rambunctious WhipperSnapper October 4, 2008 at 4:13 pm #

    Oh honey, we ain’t a “modern” country by many standards. However, we are better off than a lot of places, even Papua New Guniea. And other shitholes like Bhutan or Cambodia.

    You know they execute fags in Iran? And 377 is executed more harshly in Malaysia?

    Anyways, my point is that religious fundamentalism exists in every country. As the fellow once said, “Religion is the opium of the masses”. Religious fundamentalism is bad. Whether it’s hindu or muslim or christain. It sucks.

    It takes a very high life form to reject religion or atheism.

    That being said, if someone wants to make a better life at someplace other than where they were born, they should just follow their bliss.

  2. unsungpsalm October 4, 2008 at 10:01 pm #

    *staggers*
    It’s almost an honour to be the recipient of one of Ramby’s sober comments!

    Yes, agreed this place is better than many. And then, it is worse off than many others. One must always aspire for the best, mustn’t one?

Leave a Reply

