When Weather Gods conspire

28 Sep

A few weeks ago when it was still raining cats and dogs, there was a period of a few days when I began to noice an irony. Each time I was about to step out, it was raining heavily but for most of my walk to wherever I was headed, the rain would soften or stop. Roughly within ten minutes of my being indoors, it would start pouring with renewed vigour.

This happened on far too many occasions for me to pass it off as plain co-incidence, so I began to suppose that the Weather Gods had developed a liking for me. I was very pleased with it, and they sustained this bias. In fact, I began demonstrating to friends that my luck really did exist.

 

Then about a week ago, the rampant rains went away and it was Sunny Ever After. I must point out that given an option, I would opt for rain over sun, but my ideal pick will always remain a cloudy day. There’s nothing like walking outdoors on a dry day when muddy water cannot climb soak trouser sleeves and the sun is behing scanty clouds and thus is unable to cause the reversed effect of Fair&Handsome.

 

So it’s been pretty dry off late, though clouds still loom in the air. However, whenever I find myself in a situation that causes me to step outdoors, the clouds are particular to keep safe distance from the sun. As I walk and near my destination, they drift closer to the sun. But the very second I step indoors, they have camoflauged the earth from the dastardly darkening effects of that solar abberation. And why could this not happen ten minutes before then, while I was braving the sun’s rays and inching closer to becoming an African American?

Yes, it all sounds like co-incidence. But how often do such co-incidences occur? Once? Twice? Three-freaking times? Try four!

 

I may not believe in Gods and Deities. I may not believe in Hinduism, Islam, Christianity and such. But I certainly acknowledge the existence of some higher being that is the root of all (unexplainable weather) and other phenomena. If only I could sell myself to it in exchange for a happier life. Or something.

5 Responses to “When Weather Gods conspire”

  1. chandni September 28, 2008 at 12:59 pm #

    I swear to you, it happened to me too this monsoon..

    I kept finding myself in the middle of rain all the time and never getting wet!!!!!

    May be the Gods like me too! 😀

  2. unsungpsalm September 28, 2008 at 1:19 pm #

    Aha!
    So I’m not the only nutty one 😛

  3. Crazy Sam September 28, 2008 at 2:10 pm #

    I have made a deal with the rain Gods. They know that I hate wearing a raincoat and I go to office by bike. So most of the times, it rains only after I reach the office and in the evenings I don’t mind getting wet while heading towards home. Yes, one time I did get wet and that too when I was damn close to reaching the office. I was shivering under the AC that day. Thankfully, I didn’t catch cold or fever!

  4. unsungpsalm September 28, 2008 at 2:26 pm #

    Hmm. These fellows are that malleable, are they?

  5. Crazy Sam September 28, 2008 at 2:30 pm #

    I guess so! 😀

Leave a Reply

