Never Mix Drinks

31 Aug

No no! Not another post about alcohol. I’m not so addicted, you know!

I’m refering to one drink by the name of Blog-friends and another by the name of Chat Friends. As I had mentioned in this comment, one should ideally not mix the friends they make through blogs with those they make via IM; because I’m hoping that the former would last longer than the latter, and I am superstitious enough to believe that chatting with one of the former category would jinx the entire equation we have, communicating via comments etcetra.

But then, it happened. I began a chat-relationship with one of you out there. As a result, I cannot express my opinion about you as openly as I would have wished. It is unfair, completely unfair! It defeats the purpose of the blog! What I can do is, though, express as much as I wouldn’t mind the subject of the conversation reading about himself, and conceal the latter.

It so happens that one of you guys added me (or I added him) on gTalk about a fortnight ago. Since, we spoke infrequently, which was against the rules, entirely. Conversation was pleasant. It turned out that we had a lot of things in common. It also turned out that this person is so busy throughout the weekthat he only ever comes online once in a bluemoon. Which means that our conversations would be a weekly affair.

While there is no strict law against having weekly conversations with another individual, I do not appreciate the gap in time, simply because I enjoy those conversations and would want to have them more frequently; but I really have no choice in the matter.

It also turned out that I had spoken to this person once or twice long ago, when I came across him on a networking site, but then we had stopped communicating until yesterday, when he revealed that he had gone by a different pseudonym on an earlier occassion, and I made the connection.

So the bottomline basically is that he reads my blog, so I cannot be uninhibited with regards to what I write about him; and because he hardly ever comes online, I am graced with his company only once in a while, even though I would appreciate if it were more frequent.

So what I’m going to do now is write about him uninhibitedly with ruthless details, and mark that post as “Private”, so that I have, in a way, shared it with you, with the exception that none of you can actually manage to read it πŸ™‚

Yes, I know it could leave you very curious and all… well, Ha!

10 Responses to “Never Mix Drinks”

  1. Rambunctious WhipperSnapper September 1, 2008 at 12:44 am #

    You can tell me right??

    Cause if you don’t, there will be consequences.

  2. unsungpsalm September 1, 2008 at 1:15 am #

    Oooo! Consequences sound exciting, Ramby πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  3. Kris Bass September 1, 2008 at 1:44 am #

    Fuck, I have chats with a lot of blog friends. Will I too face the same consequences.

    Seriously, I don’t think there is any problem with writing about anyone on this blog. So, let it rip. Nothing should be private on the blog!

  4. unsungpsalm September 1, 2008 at 9:47 pm #

    Hmmm! But it would be more entertaining to leave him curious πŸ˜›

  5. Anon September 2, 2008 at 11:43 pm #

    Once a week, eh? And you started chatting with him a fortnight ago? And you’re already fussing about him so much? This guy must be good! πŸ˜›

  6. unsungpsalm September 3, 2008 at 12:45 am #

    Na na! I never implied any such thing! Not giving him credit for anything! Especially for being good. Ha!

  7. Jackdaw September 16, 2008 at 1:12 pm #

    Oh, you are so right. It’s impossible to have a blog about yourself in which you can be fully honest, and at the same time have people read it that are important to you. I’m struggling with this as we speak, as I too have mixed drinks recently. I have added a big shot of Irish whiskey to my otherwise straight and honest glass of strong coffee. That would make a perfect Irish Coffee, if only I added some sugar…. But I’m afraid that if I add too much it’ll taste too sweet.

    Your idea of password protected posts is great and it indeed leaves me curious. πŸ˜‰ Oh, and you are thinking way too much… just let things happen.

  8. unsungpsalm September 16, 2008 at 1:20 pm #

    Have you now? I’m very curious! Who Who?
    No, don’t tell me here. Post about it!

    Well, I put up the password for you guys, so that should screen out everyone but those who I’d let in πŸ™‚ Works well for me!

    I don’t think mixing drinks is all that bad. Chances of meeting someone interesting, even in real life, are more likely to initiate here than on any networking sites!

  9. Jackdaw September 16, 2008 at 6:04 pm #

    I posted about the Irish whiskey yesterday… no regrets πŸ™‚

  10. unsungpsalm September 16, 2008 at 10:36 pm #

    Oh, THAT mixing of drinks? Hmm… Yes, I suppose that was the first time you wrote about him! Though he’s been commenting on your blog ever since, hasn’t he?

    Irish, eh? Nice!

Leave a Reply

