Just A Question of Love

31 Jul

I watched my all-time favourite gay-flick once again, the other day. I cannot call it my all time favourite any more, after watching “Philadelphia”, but yes, in its own Genre of LGBT Cinema, it holds its place still.

Just Une Question D’amoure tells the story of Laurent, a college student who lost his way in life when his gay cousin, disowned by his family, died of Hepatitis. As luck would have it, his college professor fixed him up with an internship that would help him earn his degree. Incidentally, this internship earned him much more. Yes, love does come to you when you’re least expecting it.

I suppose I’m a great fan of French Cinema. What I loved most about this film was that the film covered almost all issues… dilemma, discrimination, coming out, acceptance, rejection. Even in a modern society that is open to liberal thought, somewhere, the mind resists change. The film tells a delicate love story of Laurent and Cedric. Who run into many an obstacle and somehow find a way around them. Of a mother who has accepted all in wake of personal loss and the fear of losing more. Of another refused to accept, and suffers from pangs of guilt. Then again, there is the mother who is lost between standing by her husband, and
holding on to her son.

Yes, this is certainly a film that leaves you feeling optimistic and happy for those who found love. And wishing the same for oneself. It leaves you feeling secure with who you are. After all, Straight or Gay, it is Just A Question of Love.

So what are your favourite LGBT movies?

18 Responses to “Just A Question of Love”

  1. flygye12 July 31, 2008 at 5:04 pm #

    okay my emule is on the job with that movie now….last seen ‘regular guys’ (german)….nice okay sort….right now no favorites (that’s quite odd isn’t it? maybe because i’ve been sitting at home the whole day )

  2. Kris July 31, 2008 at 5:41 pm #

    I forget my favs name. It’s somewhere on my blog. I’l search and come up with the name tonite when I’m at my computer.

    Commercial Bollywood gay flick – guess there are none. But ‘Honeymoon Travels’ comes close to being gay friendly.

  3. unsungpsalm July 31, 2008 at 7:10 pm #

    Yes, Honeymoon was quite good! And I watched it at a time when I had the strongest aversion for sitting in one place for too long, which says a lot!

  4. Kris Bass July 31, 2008 at 8:10 pm #

    And the winner in the category of best gay movie of all time in Kris’ world goes to…

    ‘Love! Valor! Compassion!’

    Jason Alexander (George from Seinfeld) is in there as a queen!

    ‘The Hours’ (Virginia Wolf) and ‘Capote’ also have been excellent with the lead characters in a gay role.

    What’s the esteemed blog jury’s judgement?

  5. Crazy Sam July 31, 2008 at 10:10 pm #

    LATTER DAYS!! Yeah my favourite LGBT movie is Latter Days. Then there is Mambo Italiano, which is very humourous. And Un amour à taire (A Love To Hide) (French!) is a touching movie that moved me into tears.

  6. Dark Knight August 1, 2008 at 10:31 am #

    My favs. Hmm don’t really remember any. But i liked some latin movies… Bad Education was good. will let you know more when i remember the names. 😛

  7. flygye12 August 1, 2008 at 11:52 am #

    yes yes yes….i was about to say la mala educacion !!! there’s another of almodovar’s starring antonio banderas… and of course y tu mama tambien (i can call it lgbt). dint like latter days 😦 very very bad acting and very very bad script and very very bad direction and very very without soul. what about ‘object of my affection’? Beautiful thing is my fav now i recall. summerstrom- ok. QAF britsh (ive said this before)….there was one french one on tv5, basically from a lil boy’s view. his parents’ marriage is broken, dad has moved in with his bf, the kid lives with granparents for sometime but the boy’s father wants the kid to move in with him…nice one, dint catch the name tho….and thanx to Sam about a love to hide (i read ur post about it), bebe had seen this one on tv5 (again) and forgotten the name..so when i read ur description i remembered it again !

  8. flygye12 August 1, 2008 at 12:18 pm #

    did i mention ‘trick’? muaah!

  9. Dark Knight August 1, 2008 at 12:39 pm #

    fly, you didn’t like y tu mama… so much? hahaha i found tht movie funny enough… it was time pass for me, though the story was weak. 😛

  10. pepe August 1, 2008 at 5:14 pm #

    Brokeback Mountain…i bawled like a cow!!!
    the play Madam Butterfly is exceptionally good…
    there’s this Taiwanese movie too that i cant recall of…that also moved me to the core…

  11. Rambunctious WhipperSnapper August 1, 2008 at 9:35 pm #

    ok, what about eating out and sommerstrom.

    plus those mtv “undressed” episodes?

    and of course, qaf (both uk&us) …

    and Degrassi: the next generation ….

  12. unsungpsalm August 2, 2008 at 12:07 am #

    Yes, how could anyone forget Brokeback? A masterpiece!
    @Sam
    A Love to Hide sounds just like my kind of a film! Now I shall attempt to download, I shall! Hopefully, I’ll be able to watch it by the end of the year, on my college connection ?!?!

  13. flygye12 August 2, 2008 at 6:27 am #

    Brokeback the movie was so-so, the story was gr8
    eating out 😀 i loved both of em (picked original DVD from china 🙂
    what was that undressed about ramby
    Degrassi, never heard of it

    my emule shows only 2 copies available.which SW do u guys use?azureus ? ares ?

  14. Crazy Sam August 2, 2008 at 9:01 am #

    Well Brokeback Mountain is really so-so. Most gay Indians are obsessed over it because I guess lot of them may be going through a similar phase – the guys being married trying to keep alive their gay interests. If you care, I’ve written about Brokeback Mountain at here and here.

    A Love To Hide is a must watch, it is one powerful movie which will shake you from the core. I don’t even have the courage to watch it a second time!

  15. unsungpsalm August 2, 2008 at 4:08 pm #

    Oh, the reason I loved Brokeback was because I was astonished that such ultra-hot and studly men could be Homo Homo! And most of the movie wasn’t all that fascinating, but the last bit… The very last scene… Left me clutching myself!

  16. unsungpsalm August 2, 2008 at 4:11 pm #

    PS – “A Love that will never grow old” from Brokeback Mountain soundtrack, aka, the Best song that was ever recorded in Human History!

  17. sholok August 20, 2008 at 12:34 am #

    i’m in love with juste une question…AND stephan guerin-tillie….i also loved summerstorm and maurice.latter days was only OK. why do so many people like brokeback?

  18. unsungpsalm August 20, 2008 at 2:55 am #

    I love it because of the way the movie ended… Very touching!

Leave a Reply

