The Right To Choose

1 Nov

Dear Father,
Yesterday, as I sat before your siblings, constantly being insulted over and over… on the charge of having my own priorities, or for daring to speak and not just listen as I was categorically insulted in bullet points… as I sat there, in the face of your brother’s blatant, disgusting, foul hypocrisy… for not conforming to some standard template as expected of me (but surprisingly not his own children)… As you sat there witnessing all of it, and not uttering a word, who knows, maybe enjoying every minute of it, you made a choice, then and there. A choice to limit our relationship to one of cordiality.

I’m no poorer with one less aunt and uncle, but I certainly find it ironic that I’m poorer by a what could have been a strong bond with my father, of who I thought I was a carbon copy. But is now reduced by your actions, your priorities and your choices, to a mere formality.
But am I an image of you, I wonder? Would I fail to value the dignity of my wife and own children, before the ego of my siblings and their offspring? Would I turn a blind eye to the pleas of my own creation? Would I value tradition over emotion?

For all that you’ve been to me, over the years Father, none matter as much as this betrayal…

4 Responses to “The Right To Choose”

  1. chandni November 1, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

    what happened love? are you okay?

  2. unsungpsalm November 2, 2011 at 1:08 am #

    I’m fine babe… Thanks for checking <3

  3. BlueMist November 3, 2011 at 7:24 am #

    After so long. Hope things are good with you. Take care Boy.

  4. H November 29, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    Come on. Everyone has their weak moments and although this one seems big, I’m sure it’ll blow over. He is after all your dad, and he loves you. Maybe speaking to him and finding out what his motivation behind doing that were will help? *hugs*

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

